By His Spirit

by Marissa Rubin

” Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit, says the LORD of hosts.” – Zech. 4:6

The old apartment was smaller than my bedroom. A sofa that held three. A twin size mattress against another wall sufficed as another couch. Everyone else sat on the floor. There were about 12 of us plus a few kids running around. As if it wasn’t hot enough, we began in some worship in Hindi, Nepali, and English to work up a little more of a sweat. Then Pastor J brought the Word – Mark 4 – The Parable of the Sower.  Hungry as ever, everyone listened…all the Nepali refugees who have recently arrived to Denver. Most recently, they were refugees in Bhutan. They were persecuted by the king for being Hindu, as Bhutan is devoutly Buddhist.

So they came to America. Others of them are in Denmark, Norway, Australia, and a few other countries. They are fleeing by the thousands. Fifty more are expected to arrive in Denver within the week. Anyway, there is now a church in Denver. There were 6 or 7 at the initial meeting. Now there are close to 70 attending on any given Sunday. It began 2 months ago. These people have known Jesus for very little time, but are growing at a rapid rate.

After the teaching, we prayed. Pastor J, his wife, my friend Astrid and I prayed for the people who were standing in a circle. Everyone was praying…in their own language or in tongues…there was so much happening. People were falling to the floor. People were crying. I knew the Spirit was about to do something. We saw healing in a man’s knees. He could now walk.

I hadn’t experienced anything like this since…….I can’t even remember when. It’s been a few years. The crazy thing is that these people have never been to church. They don’t know how things “work.” I mean, how does one know how to fall to their knees and lift up their hands without having ever seen another Christian? Astrid mentioned this on our car ride back to the Springs. They are simply moved by the Spirit of God.

It was there. He was there. God. My Father. He revealed Himself. My faith is increased.

These people…they’re such a unique group. Nepali in origin…refugees in Bhutan…displaced yet again in Colorado?! Now they know Jesus.

I was convicted of many things tonight. My life gained direction yet again. I have purpose…to follow God. Even if I don’t have money. I was reminded of Acts 3:6 where Peter says, “I do not possess silver and gold, but what I do have I give to you…” and the beggar was healed. God told me other things as well.

The last thing I will say is that I am done with knowledge. I think that’s a pretty blunt thing to flat-out say. But, I am done with knowledge in the sense that I don’t think it’s as important as I once thought. I am surrounded by intelligent people. They truly are intelligent, as they are well-versed in theological topics and ministerial systems. Heck I am fairly well-versed in these things. I long to lean more on the Father, who is the Spirit and less on my knowledge. “Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.” 2 Corinthians 3:17

So after the long time of prayer, we ate. Then they dumped seconds on our plates. I felt like I was back ministering at that prison on an island off of China. Only this wasn’t snake soup. I will take spicy over snake any day. They have nothing. They gave us everything.

I was blessed tonight. If I’ve ever experienced anything like the believers in Acts 2, it was tonight. God is almighty.

Jeremiah 20:9 says, “…his word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.” This is my prayer. My prayer not only for myself, but for these Nepali people, my family, my friends, and all the believers I meet.

