Paper Cranes and Little Ones

by Marissa Rubin

Let me first preface this blog with the happenings of last night. Yesterday was my friend’s birthday. She randomly scouted out a place called Shuga\’s Restaurant/Bar downtown in a residential area. This place was beyond fantastic. Hundreds of origami birds from the ceiling, other random art, Coldplay (but better) playing, Brazilian coconut shrimp (or something to that effect) soup, and some great imported beers. Ok, it was straight up hipster. The other girls and I agree that this is our new favorite establishment. We discussed the routine topics last night- what is happening in our lives, recent films we have seen, summer plans, and parenting…

I’m not quite positive how the topic of parenting came about. We’re all in our early-mid twenties and none of us have kids. One of my friends was adamant on the idea of not allowing her kids to have a Nintendo DS. I agreed and said that I was going to send my kids outside and not allow them to come in until I gave them the word (my mom did this with me). If they are thirsty, they will have to drink out of the hose. I think we’re going to be stellar parents.

HA! Parenting scares me. I’m pretty sure I’m a little ways off, but I still don’t think I’ll be ready when the day rolls around…if it in fact does! The responsibility of steering and training a life is tremendous! Gosh, I can’t even keep myself straight. Enough on that. I know, I know… I’ve heard time and again and believe that kids are a true blessing from the Lord.

“Don’t you see that children are God’s best gift?
the fruit of the womb his generous legacy?
Like a warrior’s fistful of arrows
are the children of a vigorous youth.
Oh, how blessed are you parents,
with your quivers full of children!”
– – Psalm 127:3-4 (The Message)

………epic.

Anyway, I suppose I don’t have to figure out my parenting techniques now; for I am 23 and SINGLE. But, I found myself pondering certain things. Nothing wrong with that, right? I don’t think so.

On Technology – I like technology. I like it quite a bit, actually. So maybe this is an oxymoron, but part of me would want to mostly prohibit avenues such as TV, DS, Wii, Playstation, X-box, Webkinz, etc. None of my childhood memories were filled with these things (besides a little television – – PBS!) and I’m pretty glad I wasn’t born even a decade later! I couldn’t imagine having texted in junior high or watching Boy Meets World on my personal device while sitting in a restaurant with my family. My sister and I built teepees in the woods, directed neighborhood productions in our basement, made crappy greeting cards to sell to our poor neighbors, and drew a hop-scotch that reached to the thousands. My personal favorite was searching for “pets” such as caterpillars, turtles, frogs, snails, and grasshoppers. My parents were always generous to let me keep them. My best find was our stray dog, Rosie. : ) Then again though, technology IS how our world functions. I think that kids should be exposed to it…but maybe just in small doses. I mean, they would be in for a harsh shock otherwise. Pretty sure that most folks would agree with me. So, yeah…I think I’d say “no” to the DS as well.

On Rules- Personally, I think my parents did a great job with boundaries and limits regarding what my siblings and I could and could not do at certain ages. Some of my friend’s parents didn’t care enough about what their kids did while others didn’t allow them to pass their mailboxes. This is a subjective topic of course, for what if one lives in a raunchy area? Protection vs. overprotection…such a touchy subject. I hope that I can be like my parents in that they gave us liberal guidelines. We could go where we wanted for the most part, but they had to know where we were. SIDENOTE: I would want my kids (if I have kids) to fall while climbing up trees and catch a cold from making mud pies in the rain. Please Lord, let me never prohibit stuff like that on a regular basis. I suppose this more correlates with my previous paragraph, but I really don’t want to be overprotective.  …END soapbox. Pretty cool that my ‘rents never had to give any of the three of us a curfew when we reached our teenage years. I think this was the result of good boundaries from the start – like age 5! Of course, some things didn’t seem fair – like not being allowed to watch Titanic when it first came out.

On Media – I suppose by “media” I mean books, movies, tv programs, internet sites, etc. Now, I don’t want to get into a Harry Potter or Twilight debate (although I’m not keen on either). This is touchy…even for myself. I want to honor God with what I watch, read, and take in overall. Music has been a huge grey area for me that I am definitely trying to make more black and white. I guess a huge issue with kids stuff is magic-type stuff. Magic is witchcraft and witchcraft is definitely not from God. Will I let my kids watch Disney movies. Yeah, I think so. : ) It’s tough – to not be legalistic, yet stay true to honor our creator. I think it’s more difficult now than it was in the 90’s. I don’t remember too much controversial stuff back then. Or maybe my parents secretly kept me from it. Muahahah.

“Write these commandments that I’ve given you today on your hearts. Get them inside of you and then get them inside your children. Talk about them wherever you are, sitting at home or walking in the street; talk about them from the time you get up in the morning to when you fall into bed at night. Tie them on your hands and foreheads as a reminder; inscribe them on the doorposts of your homes and on your city gates.”

– – Deuteronomy 6:6-9 (The Message)

Alrighty, there you have it…just a FEW thoughts that have unraveled in my mind. They aren’t totally thought out, and therefore comments are SUPER welcomed!

