dreamlife

by Marissa Rubin

17″In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophecy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams. 18Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will prophecy. 19I will show wonders in the heaven above and signs on the earth below, blood and fire and billows of smoke. 20The sun will be turned to darkness and the moon to blood before the coming of the great and glorious day of the Lord. 21And everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” -Acts 2:17-21

Recently (as within the past few weeks), I have heard accounts of numerous friend’s dreams. These aren’t normal dreams… Ok right, so dreams are usually quite idiosyncratic, BUT these dreams that I’ve heard as of late are more than that. I am trying to think back to Mr. Lohman’s AP Psychology class my senior year of high school…not working. I could get all psychological, but I don’t think it would do any service to what I’m trying to portray.

In high school, I had a dream that Britney Spears did a show at the golf course down the street from my house. There were fireworks at the end. …THAT would never happen. When I was about seven, I had a dream about elephants at the park. I kept wondering why the elephants were so big. Then, the wicked witch chased me down a winding staircase with graffiti-coated cement walls. About a month ago, I had a dream that I got married. Yes, married. That gave me a fright. I didn’t even know who I was marrying. I was happy in my dream, though…

With all this to say, my friends aren’t having dreams such as these. Their dreams seem to hold underlying meaning, symbolism, depth, war, triumph, and beauty. They are more than a wacky story. Truth is, I have had a few of these dreams as of late also. Interestingly, all of the dreams seem to have one thing in common – some sort of war waging. In my dreams, there is a problem…a problem that could result in destruction. This problem is lingering. There is a victory in the distance, but it has not come to completion. The war still carries on. I am not Daniel, but I would like to interpret these dreams. Not really. I mean, I just want to know what they mean in relation to my life; my story.

Although most of these dreams are unclear, I have so much excitement and expectation. These people seek God. These dreams MUST mean something. I am praying about all of this…talking to Him about it a lot. I hope I don’t sound crazy. Actually, I don’t care if I do. The Lord generously gives wisdom and understanding to all who ask. He will show us all in due time, friends. He always delivers on time…His time.

keep dreaming . . . keep serving . . . keep loving . . .

 

As our hearts lay sleeping,
As our bodies rest,
The Heavens open up for us.
Put down your weapon, child,
And close your eyes,
Because you and your enemies
Are innocent tonight.

I never wanted you,
I never wanted you to go.

There’s a voice inside your soul
That resonates through your skin and bone,
Up through the blades of grass,
Underneath the feet of God’s only son.
The war that you’re fighting
Has already been won.

I just want to survive with you by my side.
With you by my side, I just want to survive.

Crooked mouth, quiet down.
Let your fists come undone.
Miscarried love will be reborn.
When we sleep,
The devil’s arms are tied.

The war that we’re fighting
Has already been won…

I never wanted this,
I never wanted this to go away.
I never wanted this,
I never asked for it,
I never meant to let it go.

I just want to survive with you by my side.
With you by my side, I just want to survive.

