“719”

by Marissa Rubin

I have a 27% battery left on my computer, so I will have to write this in a jiffy.  I’m here.  I’m in Colorado.  Have been for about two weeks now.

My living situation is great, just what I need right now.  I am living with the family that hosted me during my time interning after high school.  They finished their basement, where my room is.  I have access to my own kitchen and a shared bathroom…just in case you were dying to know.  In the basement there is also an incredible media set-up…and I mean, the WORKS.  I could attempt to explain it, but it would be a crappy explanation because of my lack of knowledge in the “geek” …jk…department.

Of course, the scenery is great.  I work out A LOT just to see the mountains on bike rides and runs.  The inclines, however, are not so great.

There are so many coffee shops, man!  I honestly forgot.  So many to choose from.  Beats my ONLY choice of Starbucks in M-Town, although I truly miss the crew there.

So, what has been consuming my time?  Nothing really, to be completely honest.  Applying for jobs.  Exercising.  Sitting in coffee shops and doing homework, reading, studying Spanish.  I played soccer with a rec league a few nights ago and plan to continue, even with my current lack of skills.  I went to theMILL (see link in blogroll) last night and of course, plan on continuing that as well.  Church hunting.  Looking for voluneer opportunities while I job hunt.  Hey, I guess I’m a “little” busy.

Life is good.  Freedom of being on my own again is great, of course.  I feel like I can do anything.  Granted, I only want what God wants.  I really don’t know how long I will be in the Springs, for my heart is elsewhere…overseas.  Time to make the most and grow in my relationship with Him. while I’m here.  I get frustrated sometimes with the lack of direction, but then I quickly realize (like I always do) that He’s got my back like no one else.  He’s got it completely.  After all, He brought me out here!

On the trip out here, I was reading “The Cross and the Switchblade” by David Wilkerson.  Somewhere near the beginning his cry was for God to simply direct his steps versus showing him the ultimate purpose.  It was crazy to see how that’s what He in fact did with David.  I want this to be my cry.  Last night at theMILL, God showed me during worship that He wants me to pour into people.  I find myself praying for people more.  I find myself praying for random strangers.  I find myself praying for nations.  I find myself growing closer to Him in the process.

God is so good.  I can get wrapped up in my “indirection,” or I can follow the Holy Spirit’s guidance.  I choose the latter.  Hopefully, more often than not.

Ephesians 3:20 – – “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory…

