Westward

by Marissa Rubin

I have had the most random people approach me within the past few weeks asking me questions, wishing me well, etc. The word is out and yes, the rumors are in fact true. Lord-willing, I will be moving back to Colorado somewhere around mid/late summer.

For a good while now, I have been praying about an opportunity to move out. Uncertainty flooded my mind (and still does to a degree) as I made lengthy lists of pros and cons. All there was left to do was trust. It’s amazing…the things that can happen when one surrenders. Probably the first week of November, I got a call out of the blue from the family I lived with during my year-long internship in the Springs. Kim called to let me know that they were finishing their basement into an apartment, and if I ever decided that I would like to stay with them, they would love to have me. Although I knew in my spirit that this was the thing to do, being the indecisive person that I am, I told them I’d get back to them. I called her back within three days along with a confirmation for the summer of 2010.

So, this is where I am. I’m in a major transition stage. I gave me two weeks at Ruby Tuesday after being there for two and a half years. I begin a new job next Monday with Chickfila, yes…Chickfila doing catering and outside sales. They know I will be departing good ole Del. Never-ending waffle fries until then.

Again, this is where I am and what life is looking like. But, life takes twists and turns. I personally don’t like to talk about the future too much because of this. So, I will say it again…Lord-willing I will be moving back out to Colorado next summer. I eagerly anticipate seeing the front range of the Rockies in all God’s splendor; but, for now I will bask in His majesty while watching every rolling wave crash upon the Atlantic shore. Corny? yeah. But, I mean every word. I want to soak up everything the present has to offer and “suck out the marrow” as Emerson (I think) states.

