“…with the measure you use, it will be measured to you”

by Marissa Rubin

This is the well-quoted verse from Matthew 7:2 on judging.  Scary, right?  I will be honest here…I’ve already racked up a good “measure” of judgement on myself.  This freaks me out.

It’s strikingly easy to have judgmental thoughts/attitudes.  Sure, we shouldn’t judge people who are remarkably different from us; however, is it wrong to judge a ministry that practically begs for money in love offerings at their services or a renowned celebrity who is trapped in legal affairs?  Or, how about this one…  Is it wrong to judge a politician with who you completely disagree?  Of course it is, but how easy these attitudes are to slip into!

This world and it’s inhabitants are all screwed up in some fashion because of the fall.  By judging these individuals (no matter what they have done), I am putting myself in a pretty sketchy position.  I know I can’t change my firing thoughts overnight, nor will I ever reach perfection in this area, but I want out.  I think that by “wanting out” and acting on making efforts to the best of our ability, we can do ourselves and the world some good.  Plus, this is what God desires from us.  Ultimately, He commands us to love, and there is no judgement in love.  “Love is…not proud…it keeps no record of wrongs.”  Most everything can come back to this very passage in 1 Corinthians.  Before, I get too far off track…

Let’s move forward, having a healthy fear of Jesus’ statement on judging and remembering that “there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”  -Romans 8:1

