Legacy: the MARK.

by Marissa Rubin

My Mark.

A little over a year ago, I was finishing up my first and last year at a leadership school in Colorado Springs. That year was incredible. In fact, it was more than incredible. I am not able to think of the right vocab to depict my time in the program. Anyway, at the end of the year, all of the first year students compiled an extraordinary video of what we wanted our life legacies to be. Mine was this: “To have sought after God with all my heart and to be part of a spiritual revolution on the East Coast.” It still has not changed. This is still my life ambition.

At Peace.

I would have absolutely loved to stay out West. The majestic mountains, the vast Christian community with people my own age, great coffee shops, and zero humidity are just some of the intriguing aspects that are indispensable. Delaware is probably the most unappealing place in the U.S. …honestly. It is the state with the highest rate of cancer. There are massive power plants, entirely too many congested highways, and it is constantly muggy. Something that I cannot deny is the indispensable call of God on my life. I don’t know specifically why I am back here in my home state of Delaware, but the longer I am here and seeking Him, things slowly begin to unfold. It’s funny, because now I know that I can not even begin to imagine myself out there or even anywhere else right now.

Letting Go.

God has given me incredible opportunity. I just started working as an intern at my church. I am at least twenty years younger than every other staff member. The church here needs to be revolutionized. I am privileged to be a part of what God is doing here. I am laying my life on the line, and He is using me for His glory. It is unbelievable what He will do if you just let go and live for Him. It’s the most difficult, yet simple thing to do.

Annabelle Bailor.

When I think of those in my life that I REALLY look up to, I don’t think that any match with this woman. She was a lover of life and people. She passed away when I was twelve, but I still remember her…oh, without a doubt I do. I don’t know if she ever said this, but I think that her goal in life was to make EVERY single person feel like a million dollars. For those who are familiar with the DISC personality assessment, I believe she was “I” all the way. My great grandma was a giver. She was hospitable. She was loving. The reason I think I feel as if I knew her so well was because of all the stories I hear. I want to be like her in so many ways. I know I can’t “change” my personality, but I want to love like she did. I want this to be my lifelong legacy as well. To love. To love God. To love people like He does.

n513493910_1059566_50331n513493910_1059554_97091

Delaware.

God loves the people here. His heart breaks for them. This makes my heart break for them. He sees through their fronts. I am utterly in love with this place. Sure, it may not have Estes Park or Pikes Perk coffee, but it does have Lums Pond and Grotto Pizza. My life is not my own. If it was, I would be living in Barcelona or Cape Town. If this is where God will have me, Delaware is just fine with me. In fact, as I already mentioned…there is no place I would rather be.

